Egypt Map Under Native Rule In 1960, Egypt had a relatively stable political map with clear borders. It was bordered by Libya to the west, Sudan to the south, Israel to the east, and the Mediterranean Sea to the north. The Sinai Peninsula was part of Egypt at this time, as it had been since 1956, when Egypt regained control of the region from Israel. The country was divided into 26 governorates, which were further divided into districts and sub-districts. Cairo, the capital city, was located in the northern part of the country on the east bank of the Nile River. In 1960, Egypt was still dealing with the aftermath of the Suez Crisis of 1956, which had led to the withdrawal of British and French forces from the Sinai Peninsula and the opening of the Suez Canal to international shipping. The country’s economy was growing, thanks in part to investments in infrastructure and industrialization, but it remained heavily reliant on agriculture, particularly the cultivation of cotton. Egypt gained its independence from British colonial rule in 1952 and was then ruled by a series of nationalist military regimes. By 1960, Egypt’s borders were largely settled, and the country was divided into 26 governorates, each with its own administrative capital. The governorates were further divided into smaller administrative units, such as cities, districts, and villages. The borders of Egypt in 1960 were largely the same as they are today, except for the Sinai Peninsula, which was occupied by Israel during the Six-Day War in 1967. At that time, Egypt also controlled the Gaza Strip, which it had administered since the 1948 Arab Israeli War.

Overall, the map of Egypt in 1960 reflected a country that was beginning to find its footing as a modern, independent nation, but one that was still grappling with many of the challenges that would characterize its development in the years to come.