Mohamed Nagy Museum is a photography and biographical art history museum located at 9 Mahmoud El Gendi Street, close to the Giza Plateau, in the Haram district of Giza, in the southwest of the Greater Cairo metropolis, Egypt. It was initially Mohamed Nagy’s studio which he founded in 1952. Nagy was a pioneer of modern Egyptian photographic art. Considered in modern Egypt to be one the country’s most renowned painters. After his death it was formally inaugurated as a museum on 13 July 1968 by Tharwat Okasha, the Egyptian Minister of Culture. In 1991 the museum refurbished.
History of Mohamed Nagy Museum
Nagy had pioneered Egyptian photographic modern art on his return from Florence. He had been training, and in 1952, while director of the Museum of Modern Art. He developed a plot of land that he owned. Built his studio. Following his death in his studio in 1956, in 1962 his life and work commemorated by the Ministry of Culture. They purchased his studio and converted it into a museum named in his honour. The museum has 1,200 exhibits; initially his sister, Effat Nagy, who was also a painter and has another museum devoted to her work, donated about 40 of Nagy’s oil paintings to the new museum, as well as a large collection of his sketches and personal effects.
More works added to the collection following the purchase in 1987 of many of Nagy’s oil paintings. Following a major refurbishment the museum reopened in 1991. Nagy’s painting “Egyptian Revival,” which had displayed in the Paris Salon and honored with a gold medal, housed in the museum.
The museum has published a catalogue titled The Family of the Artist in the Country.