The Royal Cache, technically known as TT320 (previously referred to as DB320). It is an Ancient Egyptian tomb next to Deir el-Bahri, in the Theban Necropolis, opposite the modern city of Luxor.

It contains an extraordinary collection of mummified remains and funeral equipment of more than 50 kings, queens. In addition to other royal family members of the New Kingdom. Used as a cache for royal mummies during the Twenty-first Dynasty.

The eleven pharaohs found there include 1 of the 9 pharaohs from the 17th dynasty, 5 of the 15 pharaohs from the 18th dynasty, 3 of the 8 pharaohs from the 19th dynasty, and 2 of the 10 pharaohs from the 20th dynasty. The tomb was originally used as last resting place of High Priest of Amun Pinedjem II, his wife Nesikhons, and other close family members.

Its discovery by locals in 1871, and by Egyptologists in 1881, caused a sensation. The mummies quickly became a highlight of the new Egyptian Museum (then in Giza). In 1969, the discovery dramatized in The Night of Counting the Years, which became one of Egypt’s most widely respected films. In 2021 the mummies were moved to a modern display area in the new National Museum of Egyptian Civilization, following the high-profile Pharaohs’ Golden Parade.

Royal cache

Entrance shaft of the royal cache

List of mummies in Royal Cache

Dynasty Image Name Title Comments
17th Tetisheri (?) Great Royal Wife Now disputed.
17th Seqenenre Tao Pharaoh
17th Ahmose-Inhapi Queen
17th Ahmose-Henutemipet Princess
17th Ahmose-Henuttamehu Great Royal Wife
Ahmose-Meritamon Great Royal Wife
17th Ahmose-Sipair Prince Now disputed.
17th Ahmose-Sitkamose Great Royal Wife
18th Ahmose I Pharaoh
18th Ahmose-Nefertari Great Royal Wife Now disputed.
18th Rai Royal nurse Nurse of Ahmose-Nefertari
18th Siamun Prince
18th Ahmose-Sitamun Princess
18th Amenhotep I Pharaoh
18th Thutmose I Pharaoh Now disputed
18th Baket (?) Princess Possibly Baketamun (?)
18th Thutmose II Pharaoh
18th Thutmose III Pharaoh
18th Unknown man C Possibly Senenmut
19th Ramesses I Pharaoh
19th Seti I Pharaoh
19th Ramesses II Pharaoh
20th Ramesses III Pharaoh
20th Ramesses IX Pharaoh