Ancient Egypt Map During the Coptic Era the country was divided into administrative divisions known as provinces, which were called eparchies in the Coptic language. These eparchies were headed by bishops instead of the traditional pharaohs. The bishops acted as both spiritual leaders and executive officers. The major eparchies during this time period included Alexandria, Memphis, Antinoopolis, Oxyrhynchus, and Panopolis. Alexandria was the most prominent city and the seat of the Coptic Pope, who was considered to be the leader of the entire Coptic Church. The other eparchies were scattered throughout the Nile Valley and Delta. The Nile River continued to be the lifeline of Ancient Egypt during the Coptic Era. It provided essential resources such as water, fertile land, and transportation. The cities of Luxor and Thebes continued to be important centers of trade and religion, and their famous temples and monuments attracted visitors from all over the world. To the east of the Nile, there was the Red Sea, which was a trade route for goods such as frankincense and myrrh. To the west, there was the Libyan Desert, which acted as a barrier between Egypt and its western neighbors. The Nile River was the main source of life and commerce in Egypt, and it played a significant role in the economy. Other important cities along the Nile included Thebes, Luxor, and Aswan.  Beyond the Nile Valley and Delta, the eastern part of Egypt was bordered by the Red Sea. The Red Sea provided access to trade routes with the Arabian Peninsula, East Africa, and India. To the west of the Nile Valley and Delta was the vast Sahara Desert, which acted as a natural barrier between Egypt and its western neighbors.

In summary, the map of Ancient Egypt during the Coptic Era featured administrative divisions under the control of bishops, with the most prominent city being Alexandria. The Nile River remained crucial to the country, while the Red Sea served as a trade route, and the Sahara Desert acted as a barrier.